Momentum

We had a retreat for our Visionaries in Washington DC a few weeks ago.

One of our guest speakers was Steve Dubbeldam, who has had many successful businesses.  One of the most current is Darling Magazine, which he started with his wife.

Something he said that really stuck with me was this:

“Don’t stop moving, don’t lose momentum.  God will redirect your steps if you’re moving in the wrong direction.”

I’ve been thinking about this a lot, and I believe if, with the right heart, you are found moving in the wrong direction, God will gracefully redirect your steps.

There can be moments, even seasons, in life where you know there are steps to be taken, but you’re just unsure of the direction.  What do you do without any new word or revelation?

I believe we need to continue on with the last thing God has spoken, and stay in that until he has called us to whatever is new.

Since Steve talked about this, I’ve been looking into the idea of moving forward in the Bible.  And I’m really loving what is said in Philippians 3.  Read the whole thing if you have a couple minutes, but I want to highlight verses 10-16.

 [For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death, [in the hope].  That if possible I may attain to the [spiritual and moral] resurrection [that lifts me] out from among the dead [even while in the body].  Not that I have now attained [this ideal], or have already been made perfect, but I press on to lay hold of (grasp) and make my own, that for which Christ Jesus (the Messiah) has laid hold of me and made me His own.  I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead.  I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward.  So let those [of us] who are spiritually mature and full-grown have this mind and hold these convictions; and if in any respect you have a different attitude of mind, God will make that clear to you also.  Only let us hold true to what we have already attained and walk and order our lives by that.

Mmmm, that’s good.

The end goal is to pursue Him.  I love verses 13 and 14…

I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [yet]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead.  I press on toward the goal to win the [supreme and heavenly] prize to which God in Christ Jesus is calling us upward

In writing this, and looking into moving forward, and motion, I started to research Newton’s Laws of Motion. The first law, states this:

I. Every object in a state of uniform motion tends to remain in that state of motion unless an external force is applied to it.

I do think we need to do everything in our power to continue moving forward, and having momentum in our lives.

But, take heart my friends, God can move in any circumstance.

…unless an external force is applied to it.

God is the most powerful external force that was, is, and is to come.  Ever.

So really, I just want to encourage you, if you do feel stuck, unable to move in any direction due to any reason, have faith that God can move anyway.  Let your faith partner with God’s ability to be the external force in any circumstance.

Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the Lord. – Psalm 31:24

Leave a Reply

