Guide to Awesome : PART I

I. EMBRACE WHO YOU ARE

I’m short.  5’1.5″ short.  I often say 5’2, but it’s a lie.

I used to wear shoes like the above constantly in high school in an attempt to fight my vertical challenges.  (Granted now it’s nearly impossible to find me in flats, but it’s not to fight the lack of height, it’s because I just reallllllly love my ankle boots.)

Believe it or not, there was a phase when I was the tall girl.  Yep.  Believe it.  I was the tall one in 5th grade.  I played center on my basketball team in 6th grade. Then everyone else continued growing, and I didn’t.  I went from playing  center in 6th grade, to forward in 7th, to guard in 8th, to…  dancer. (quit sports, shorties don’t rock in basketball)

Short jokes were annoying to me, and I was constantly cast as children in the shows I would do.

Then eventually I realized…  (this is pure wisdom, wait for it…)

WHO CARES?

Like, really?  Yes, I’m close to legally being a ‘little person’, I’m terrible at drawing, and I will always have to stand in the front of group photos.

More importantly, I’m a follower of Jesus, passionate, and incredibly loyal to the people I love.

Even without all of that, I’m a daughter of the King, and loved by the Creator, so…That’s the end of it.

Embrace who God made you to be, and do it with enthusiasm.

“For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.  I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well.”  –Psalm 139:13-14

One thought on “Guide to Awesome : PART I

  1. Pingback: Comparison | {also, hello}

Leave a Reply

