Because we have not held back…

This is a thought I shared with my worship team…

In Genesis 22, Abraham is about to sacrifice his son…

“The Angel of the Lord called to Abraham from heaven a second time, and said, I have sworn by Myself, says the Lord, that since you have done with and have not withheld (from Me) or begrudged (giving Me) your son, your only son, in blessing, I will bless you, and in multiplying I will multiply your descendants like the stars of the heavens and like the sand on the seashore.  And your Seed (Heir) will possess the gate of His enemies.” –Genesis 22:15-18 (AMP)

Though this is not the specific sacrifice we are being asked to make, I want to take a look at the thought behind it. God asked Abraham to do the unthinkable, and because of his incredible faith, he simply obeyed.  I wonder how this can apply to us…

because you have not held back from me, in blessing, I will bless you.

How many blessings are we on the verge of, the things that God is just waiting to pour out, but we literally do not have the capacity to accept them because of the other things we are holding on to? What is causing us to hold back?

I literally think of it as a cup, or container. What are we full of?  Is there actually room for the breakthrough and blessings we are praying for?

To be honest and personal for a second, if I really received the things I’m asking for from God right this second, I don’t know if I’d have the room for them. The blessings wouldn’t be blessings, but things I simply couldn’t juggle. So I’m working on cutting the unnecessary things from my life, because really, at the end of the day, all we should want to be filled with is the things God has for us, and I want to be ready for them.

Let’s not hold back, in any capacity.  Just imagine what He’s waiting to bless us with.

Leave a Reply

